France
Introducing exotic species outside of their native distributional range is now considered as one of the greatest threat to the environmental and economic health of the planet. Some introduced species become invasive and destruct the local fauna; some others damage it indirectly, by competing with native species for space or food.

Endangered species

Native of the United States, the bullfrog was initially introduced in Gironde in 1968: about 10 specimens were placed by an individual in a private pond. In 2002, the first bullfrogs were detected in Sologne. Particularly voracious, they eat amphibians, birds, insects, fishes, micromammals, reptiles, molluscs and crustaceans.

The species has a very fast and productive reproductive cycle, since it is able to lay batches of up to 25,000 eggs. The bullfrog has thus wreaked havoc on several French ecosystems, proliferating at the expense of local species of amphibians, such as the edible frog, the fire salamander or the marbled newt.

Conservation actions

In collaboration with the CDPNE (Comité Départemental de Protection de la Nature et de l'Environnement – Local committee for the Preservation of Nature and Environment) and the Syndicat d'Entretien du Bassin du Beuvron, the Beauval Nature association participates in a program to eradicate the bullfrog in Sologne, a region recognized for the richness of its species and habitats of European interest. Environmental watch, prospecting, the destruction of clutches, the emptying of ponds invaded by bullfrog tadpoles, information of the general public and local stakeholders… All these actions have already led to a clear decrease in the bullfrog numbers in Sologne.

ormerly present in 83 local aquatic areas, the bullfrog was only colonizing 29 sites in 2010, with densities and average size of individuals clearly decreasing.

Our partners

Support the Beauval Nature association

Sponsor Beauval’s animals

Becoming a sponsor is not just about bonding with your favourite animals. It is also a great way to support Beauval Nature’s actions.

Sponsor an animal

Make a donation

Donating to the Beauval Nature association means participating in the preservation of animal species worldwide. The money collected will be donated to one of the 56 conservation programs supported by the Beauval Nature association.

Donate

France
L'introduction d'espèces exotiques hors de leur aire de distribution est désormais considérée comme l'une des plus grandes menaces pour la santé écologique et économique de la planète. Certaines espèces introduites deviennent envahissantes et détruisent la faune locale ; d'autres lui nuisent indirectement, en entrant en concurrence avec elle pour l'espace ou la nourriture.

Des espèces en sursis

Originaire des États-Unis, la grenouille taureau a initialement été introduite en Gironde en 1968 : une dizaine d'individus a été placée par un particulier dans un bassin d'ornement privé. En 2002, les premiers individus de cette espèce ont été détectés en Sologne. Particulièrement vorace, la grenouille taureau se nourrit d'amphibiens, oiseaux, insectes, poissons, micromammifères, reptiles, mollusques et crustacés.

Elle possède un cycle de reproduction rapide et très productif, pouvant émettre jusqu'à 25 000 œufs par ponte. Ainsi, la grenouille taureau a bouleversé des écosystèmes en France, proliférant aux dépens d’espèces locales d'amphibiens telles que la grenouille verte, la salamandre tachetée ou le triton marbré.

Des actions de protection

En collaboration avec le CDPNE (Comité Départemental de Protection de la Nature et de l'Environnement) et le Syndicat d'Entretien du Bassin du Beuvron, l'association Beauval Nature participe à un programme d'éradication de la grenouille taureau en Sologne, reconnue pour la richesse de ses espèces et habitats d'intérêt européen. Veille environnementale, prospection, destruction de pontes, vidanges d'étangs envahis par les têtards de cette espèce, information du public et des acteurs locaux ont d'ores et déjà conduit à une nette diminution des populations de grenouilles taureaux en Sologne.

Auparavant présente sur 83 zones aquatiques locales, la grenouille taureau ne colonisait plus que 29 sites en 2010 avec des densités et un poids moyen des individus en nette diminution.

Nos partenaires

Comment soutenir l'association Beauval Nature ?

Parrainer un animal de Beauval

C’est établir un lien fort avec votre animal préféré tout en finançant les programmes de conservation soutenus par l’association Beauval Nature.

Découvrir nos animaux parrainables

Faire un don

C'est participer à la préservation des espèces animales à travers le monde. L'argent collecté sera reversé à l'un des 50 programmes de conservation soutenus par l'association Beauval Nature.

Faire un don

Vos dons sont déductibles à hauteur de 66% des impôts