France
he bearded vulture is the biggest European vulture. Its name comes from the quiff of feathers it has under the chin. If it is today gliding over the Alps, the species has not always been observed there...

Endangered species

The modern obligation to dispose of animal carcasses has led to a strong decrease in the food resources available for the bearded vulture in Europe. To this phenomenon are added the degradation of its habitat and repeated poisonings, that have led to a constant decrease in its population.

Hunted and persecuted because of its bad reputation, the species has become extinct at the beginning of the 20th century in some French regions, such as in the Alps, where the last individual was shot in 1913.

Thanks to the mutual efforts of zoological parks and environmental organizations, the bearded vulture has been reintroduced in several regions, especially in the Alps, where 15 to 20 pairs nest today. However, the bearded vulture remains one of the rarest vulture in Europe: its population estimates (including the Turkish and Russian individuals) range between 600 and 1,000 pairs.

Conservation actions

Since the 80's, the Vulture Conservation Foundation (VCF) has indeed initiated a project to reintroduce bearded vultures in the Alps. Thanks to the joint efforts of more than 50 European zoological parks that work for the reproduction of the species, the first releases occurred in 1986, in the Hohe Tauern National Park, in Austria, then in Haute-Savoie (a region of the French Alps), at the border between Italy and Switzerland and finally in the Mercantour (a region of the French Alps).

In 1997, the program won its first victory: a pair of reintroduced bearded vultures raised its first fledgling in a natural environment. 60 births have been recorded since, and more than 140 vultures are now gliding over the Alps. The regular follow-up work led on this population (inventory of the nests, sampling of feathers, behavioural studies...) shows that it increases. Thanks to this success and the experience gained, a new project of reintroduction began in 2005 in Andalusia, in the south of Spain.

By establishing some ecological corridors that link bearded vulture populations together, the VCF is trying to ensure the expansion of vultures in all suitable habitats in Europe. The Beauval Nature association supports the VCF and works by its side to reintroduce the bearded vulture in Europe.

Our partner

Support the Beauval Nature association

Sponsor Beauval’s animals

Becoming a sponsor is not just about bonding with your favourite animals. It is also a great way to support Beauval Nature’s actions.

Sponsor an animal

Make a donation

Donating to the Beauval Nature association means participating in the preservation of animal species worldwide. The money collected will be donated to one of the 50 conservation programs supported by the Beauval Nature association.

Donate

France
Le gypaète barbu est le plus grand vautour européen. Il tient son nom du toupet de plumes naissant à la base de ses mandibules. Planant aujourd’hui au-dessus des Alpes, l’espèce n’y a pas toujours été aperçue…

Une espèce en sursis

Le caractère obligatoire de l'équarrissage a entraîné une diminution des ressources alimentaires disponibles pour les gypaètes barbus en Europe. S'ajoutent à ce phénomène la dégradation de leurs habitats et les empoisonnements à répétition, qui ont conduit à une diminution constante de leurs populations.

Pourchassée et persécutée en raison de sa mauvaise réputation, l'espèce s’est éteinte au début du XXème siècle dans certaines régions françaises, comme dans les Alpes, où le dernier spécimen a été abattu en 1913.

Grâce aux efforts conjugués des parcs zoologiques et des associations de protection de la nature, le gypaète barbu a été réintroduit dans plusieurs régions, notamment dans les Alpes, où 15 à 20 couples nichent aujourd'hui. Toutefois, le gypaète barbu reste l'un des vautours les plus rares d’Europe, sa population (y compris les populations de Turquie et de Russie) étant estimée entre 600 et 1000 couples.

Des actions de protection

Dès les années 1980, la Vulture Conservation Foundation (VCF) a effectivement initié un projet de réintroduction des gypaètes barbus dans les Alpes. Grâce à la collaboration de plus de 50 parcs zoologiques européens qui œuvrent à la reproduction de l’espèce, les premiers lâchers ont eu lieu en 1986 dans le Parc national Hohe Tauern en Autriche, puis en Haute-Savoie, à la frontière italo-suisse, et enfin dans le Mercantour.

En 1997, première victoire : un couple de gypaètes barbus issu d'une réintroduction a élevé son premier jeune à l'état sauvage ! 60 naissances ont été enregistrées depuis, plus de 140 vautours planant aujourd'hui au-dessus des Alpes. Le suivi régulier de cette population (inventaire des nids, prélèvements de plumes, études comportementales…) montre que celle-ci croît. En raison de ce succès et de l'expérience acquise, un nouveau projet de réintroduction a débuté en 2005 en Andalousie, dans le sud de l'Espagne.

En établissant des corridors écologiques qui permettent de relier les populations de gypaètes barbus, la VCF s'efforce d'assurer l'expansion des vautours dans tous les habitats propices en Europe. L'association Beauval Nature soutient la VCF et œuvre à ses côtés pour la réintroduction du gypaète barbu en Europe.

Notre partenaire

Comment soutenir l'association Beauval Nature ?

Parrainer un animal de Beauval

C’est établir un lien fort avec votre animal préféré tout en finançant les programmes de conservation soutenus par l’association Beauval Nature.

Découvrir nos animaux parrainables

Faire un don

C'est participer à la préservation des espèces animales à travers le monde. L'argent collecté sera reversé à l'un des 50 programmes de conservation soutenus par l'association Beauval Nature.

Faire un don

Vos dons sont déductibles à hauteur de 66% des impôts