Papua
Papua New Guinea, in particular the peninsula of Huon, is considered as a hotspot for conservation. A lot of species are indeed endemic to that region, like the tree-kangaroos, marsupials of the genus Dendrolagus.
Ce programme
a remporté le 3ème Prix
des Parrains et Mécènes 2019
En savoir plus

Endangered species

Until recently, there were no protected areas in Papua New Guinea, where forests are destroyed at an alarming pace by mining and logging. Tree-kangaroos are thus threatened by the destruction of their habitat, turned into agricultural lands: it is indeed the main means of subsistence for the local populations.

Conservation actions

The Woodland Park Zoo (USA) has worked to create protected areas for tree-kangaroos in Papua. Supported by Beauval Nature, this program is carried out in collaboration with the local farmers, for which are found other ways to earn a living. First of its kind in New Guinea, a protected area located in the peninsula of Huon has been officially created in 2009. This zone stretches over 760 km² and contains 35 villages and a population of 10,000 inhabitants. Thanks to the creation of this area, natural resources (particularly water) are preserved, as well as the species it provides a habitat for, like the Matschie’s tree-kangaroo.

At the same time, density and distribution studies, as well as observations on how tree-kangaroos use their environment, are under way. An education and health program dedicated to the local populations completes these actions.

Our partner

Support the Beauval Nature association

Sponsor Beauval’s animals

Becoming a sponsor is not just about bonding with your favourite animals. It is also a great way to support Beauval Nature’s actions.

Sponsor Tirrikee

Make a donation

Donating to the Beauval Nature association means participating in the preservation of animal species worldwide. The money collected will be donated to one of the 50 conservation programs supported by the Beauval Nature association.

Donate

Papouasie
La Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée, en particulier la péninsule de Huon, est considérée comme une zone prioritaire pour la conservation. En effet, de nombreuses espèces sont endémiques de cette région, comme les kangourous arboricoles, également appelés dendrolagues.
Ce programme
a remporté le 3ème Prix
des Parrains et Mécènes 2019
En savoir plus

Une espèce en sursis

Aucune zone protégée n'existait jusqu'à présent en Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée, où les forêts sont détruites à un rythme alarmant par l'exploitation minière et forestière. Les kangourous arboricoles y sont menacés par la destruction de leur habitat liée à la conversion des forêts en terres agricoles, principal moyen de subsistance pour les populations de cette région.

Des actions de protection

Le Woodland Park Zoo (USA) a travaillé à la création de zones protégées pour les kangourous arboricoles en Papouasie. Soutenu par l'association Beauval Nature, ce programme est mené en collaboration avec les propriétaires indigènes des terres, pour qui sont trouvés des moyens alternatifs de subsistance. Première du genre en Nouvelle-Guinée, une aire protégée située dans la péninsule d'Huon a été officiellement reconnue en 2009. Cette zone couvre 760 km², soit 35 villages abritant une population de 10 000 habitants. Grâce à la création de cette réserve, les ressources naturelles (en particulier l'eau) sont préservées, ainsi que les espèces qui y vivent, comme les dendrolagues de Maatschie.

En parallèle, des études de densité et de distribution, ainsi que des observations sur l'utilisation de l'environnement naturel par les kangourous arboricoles, sont en cours. Un programme d'éducation et de santé pour les communautés locales complète l'ensemble de ces actions.

Notre partenaire

Comment soutenir l'association Beauval Nature ?

Parrainer un animal de Beauval

C’est établir un lien fort avec votre animal préféré tout en finançant les programmes de conservation soutenus par l’association Beauval Nature.

Parrainer Tirrikee

Faire un don

C'est participer à la préservation des espèces animales à travers le monde. L'argent collecté sera reversé à l'un des 50 programmes de conservation soutenus par l'association Beauval Nature.

Faire un don

Vos dons sont déductibles à hauteur de 66% des impôts