Australia
Native of Australia, koalas are arboreal marsupials which mainly live in open eucalypt woodlands. The small population of koalas living in European zoological parks is carefully watched over by the San Diego Zoo, in the United States.

Endangered species

At the beginning of the 20th century, koalas almost became extinct, since they were heavily hunted for their thick, soft fur. From 1860, 10,000 to 30,000 koala pelts were sent to Europe each year. In 1924, this number increased to 2 million! The species only became protected in 1930 and its trade was declared illegal.

Today, even though the koala is not a threatened species, its future is still uncertain, due to the growth of human activities, such as agriculture or the construction of urban areas. Currently, more than 80% of the koala’s natural habitat has disappeared, and the remaining 20% is not protected.

Koalas are also threatened by other factors:

  • 4,000 koalas perish each year, knocked down by cars
  • they are an easy prey for domestic predators like cats and dogs
  • hundreds of them die each year because of forest fires.

Conservation actions

With the support of Beauval Nature, the San Diego Zoo has developed a conservation and research program about koalas. Its main research site is located on Saint Bees Island, in Queensland. This program aims to study koala behaviour in the wild as well as in zoological parks, their distribution in their natural habitat and the development of some diseases (hip and shoulder dysplasia, metabolic bone disease…).

Since the arrival of a group of koalas at Beauval in 2002, many young are born: a great news for the species!

Our partner

Support the Beauval Nature association

Sponsor Beauval’s animals

Becoming a sponsor is not just about bonding with your favourite animals. It is also a great way to support Beauval Nature’s actions.

Sponsor an animal

Make a donation

Donating to the Beauval Nature association means participating in the preservation of animal species worldwide. The money collected will be donated to one of the 56 conservation programs supported by the Beauval Nature association.

Donate

Australie
Originaire d’Australie, le koala vit principalement dans les forêts d’eucalyptus, parfaitement adapté à un mode de vie arboricole. Peu étendue en parc zoologique, la population européenne de koalas est attentivement suivie par le zoo de San Diego, aux États-Unis.

Une espèce en sursis

Au début du XXème siècle, le commerce de sa fourrure mène le koala au bord de l'extinction. Dès 1860, 10 000 à 30 000 peaux de koalas étaient exportées vers l'Europe chaque année. En 1924, l'Australie enregistra le triste record de 2 millions de peaux exportées ! Il faut attendre 1930 pour que l'espèce soit enfin protégée et que ce commerce devienne illégal.

Aujourd'hui, bien que le koala ne soit pas une espèce menacée, son avenir est tout de même incertain à cause du développement des activités humaines telles que l'agriculture et la construction de zones urbaines. Actuellement, plus de 80 % de l'habitat naturel des koalas ont disparu, les 20 % restants n'étant pas protégés.

D'autres menaces pèsent sur les koalas :

  • 4 000 koalas périssent chaque année suite à des collisions routières.
  • Ils sont des proies faciles pour les prédateurs domestiques tels que chiens et chats.
  • Des centaines d'entre eux meurent chaque année dans les flammes des incendies qui ravagent les forêts d'eucalyptus.

Des actions de protection

Avec le soutien de l’association Beauval Nature, le Zoo de San Diego a développé un programme de conservation et de recherche sur les koalas. Son principal site d'étude se situe à Saint Bees Island, dans le Queensland. Ce programme a pour objectif l'étude des comportements des koalas dans la nature ainsi que dans les parcs zoologiques, leur répartition dans le milieu naturel et le développement de certaines maladies (dysplasies de la hanche et de l'épaule, maladies métaboliques des os…).

Depuis l'arrivée d’un groupe de koalas à Beauval en 2002, de nombreux petits sont nés : une excellente nouvelle pour la pérennité de l’espèce !

Notre partenaire

Comment soutenir l'association Beauval Nature ?

Parrainer un animal de Beauval

C’est établir un lien fort avec votre animal préféré tout en finançant les programmes de conservation soutenus par l’association Beauval Nature.

Parrainer Hanya

Parrainer Alguna

Faire un don

C'est participer à la préservation des espèces animales à travers le monde. L'argent collecté sera reversé à l'un des 50 programmes de conservation soutenus par l'association Beauval Nature.

Faire un don

Vos dons sont déductibles à hauteur de 66% des impôts