Brazil
Endemic to the mountain forests of south-eastern Brazil, in the state of Minas Gerais, the buffy tufted-ear marmoset (Callithrix aurita) and the buffy headed marmoset (Callithrix flaviceps) are two species of primates that are currently classified as 'endangered' by the IUCN.

Endangered species

Their habitat is one of the habitats that are the most affected by human activities (urbanisation, agriculture, industrialisation etc.), thus resulting in its destruction. In addition to this, other species of marmosets that were originally present in other areas have been introduced into their range, such as the common marmoset and the black-tufted marmoset. These introductions, orchestrated by man, have led to increased competition for food resources and hybridisation between introduced species and mountain marmosets.

Conservation actions

The project, named the 'Mountain Marmosets Conservation Program (MMCP)' carries out population censuses of both species to estimate their respective densities within the Tinguá Biological Reserve, a place which has been determined as a hot spot for their conservation. A study on hybridisation with other species of invasive marmoset has also been launched and methods for the control of these invasive species are being pursued.

In order to safeguard the future of both mountain marmoset species, ex-situ breeding programs are being developed to establish captive populations. These populations will make it possible to envisage future reintroduction programs for individuals, when suitable areas have been identified and secured. Finally, a conservation education program concerning the two species of mountain marmosets will be implemented for local populations.

Our partners

Support the Beauval Nature association

Sponsor Beauval’s animals

Becoming a sponsor is not just about bonding with your favourite animals. It is also a great way to support Beauval Nature’s actions.

Sponsor an animal

Make a donation

Donating to the Beauval Nature association means participating in the preservation of animal species worldwide. The money collected will be donated to one of the 50 conservation programs supported by the Beauval Nature association.

Donate

Brésil
Endémiques des forêts montagneuses du Sud-Est du Brésil, dans l’Etat de Minais Gerais, le ouistiti oreillard (callithrix aurita) et le ouistiti à tête jaune (Callithrix flaviceps) sont deux espèces de primates classées aujourd’hui « en danger » par l’UICN.

Des espèces en sursis

Leur habitat reste l’un des plus touchées par les activités humaines (urbanisation, agriculture, industrialisation…), conduisant à sa destruction. À cela s’ajoute l’introduction dans leur aire de répartition d’autres espèces de ouistitis, tels que le ouistiti à toupets blancs ou le ouistiti à pinceaux noirs, originalement présents dans d’autres zones de distribution. Opérées par l’homme, ces introductions augmentent la compétition pour les ressources alimentaires et conduisent à un phénomène d’hybridation entre les espèces introduites et les ouistitis montagnards.

Des actions de protection

Le projet, nommé « Mountain Marmosets Conservation Program (MMCP) » prévoit le recensement des populations des deux espèces afin d’estimer leur densité au sein de la Réserve Biologique de Tinguá, haut lieu défini pour leur protection. En parallèle, une étude sur l’hybridation avec les autres espèces de ouistitis invasives a été lancée et des méthodes de contrôle de ces espèces invasives sont recherchées.

Afin de pouvoir sécuriser l’avenir des deux espèces de ouistitis montagnards, des programmes de reproduction ex-situ sont en développement afin de constituer des populations captive. Ces populations permettront d’envisager des programmes de réintroduction d’individus dans le futur lorsque des zones propices auront été identifiées et sécurisées. Enfin, un programme d’éducation à la conservation des deux espèces de ouistitis de montagne sera mis en place auprès des populations locales.

Nos partenaires

Comment soutenir l'association Beauval Nature ?

Parrainer un animal de Beauval

C’est établir un lien fort avec votre animal préféré tout en finançant les programmes de conservation soutenus par l’association Beauval Nature.

Découvrir nos animaux parrainables

Faire un don

C'est participer à la préservation des espèces animales à travers le monde. L'argent collecté sera reversé à l'un des 50 programmes de conservation soutenus par l'association Beauval Nature.

Faire un don

Vos dons sont déductibles à hauteur de 66% des impôts