Madagascar
Located east of Madagascar, the Andriantantely forest is one of the last areas of rainforest subsisting in Madagascar. It provides a habitat for a great number of lemur species.

Endangered species

Several species of lemurs classified as “critically endangered” by the IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature) live in the Andriantantely forest. Among them are the black-and-white ruffed lemur, the indri and the sifaka. In 2009, the greater bamboo lemur, also classified as “critically endangered”, was discovered in this same forest: the geographical zone thus became classified as a priority conservation area. Hunting, deforestation in favour of slash-and-burn agriculture, illegal wood exploitation... many threats hang over this forest and the animals it provides a habitat for.

Conservation actions

The Beauval Nature association supports the Aspinall Foundation, which works to preserve the Andriantantely lemurs, in collaboration with several local organizations. Its conservation program has several goals:

  • protect the Andriantantely forest, a priority area for lemur conservation, as defined in the IUCN strategy for conservation of these primates.
  • protect the populations of black-and-white ruffed lemurs, indris, sifakas and greater bamboos lemurs: these 4 species are among the most threatened ones in Madagascar, and three of them are classified in the IUCN list of the 25 most endangered primates.
  • preserve 4 000 hectares of rainforest, one of the habitats with the most endemic species in the world.
  • set up, in the long term, a local foundation for forest and lemur conservation, in partnership with local organizations and the Malagasy Minister for the Environment.
  • hire a Malagasy primatologist, in order to study the lemurs living in the Andriantantely forest and to collaborate with the local organizations and stakeholders. This will allow to carry out a participative follow-up work on the animals.

Our partner

Support the Beauval Nature association

Sponsor Beauval’s animals

Becoming a sponsor is not just about bonding with your favourite animals. It is also a great way to support Beauval Nature’s actions.

Sponsor an animal

Make a donation

Donating to the Beauval Nature association means participating in the preservation of animal species worldwide. The money collected will be donated to one of the 56 conservation programs supported by the Beauval Nature association.

Donate

Madagascar
Située à l'est de Madagascar, la forêt Andriantantely reste l'une des rares parcelles de forêt tropicale subsistant à Madagascar. Cette dernière abrite de nombreuses espèces de lémuriens.

Une espèce en sursis

Plusieurs espèces de lémuriens classées "En danger critique d'extinction" par l'UICN (Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature) se retrouvent dans la forêt Andriantantely. Parmi celles-ci, le vari noir et blanc, l'indri et le sifaka. En 2009, le grand lémur des bambous, également classé "En danger critique d'extinction", fut découvert dans ce même espace forestier, finissant de classer la zone géographique au rang d'espace prioritaire pour la conservation des espèces. Chasse, déforestation en faveur de la culture sur brûlis, exploitation illégale du bois… De lourdes menaces pèsent sur cette forêt et les animaux qu’elle abrite.

Des actions de protection

L’association Beauval Nature soutien la Fondation Aspinall, qui œuvre pour la sauvegarde des lémuriens d'Adriantantely. Mené en collaboration avec des associations locales, son programme de conservation vise plusieurs objectifs :

  • La protection de la forêt Andriantantely, site prioritaire pour la conservation des lémuriens, tels que défini par la stratégie de l'UICN pour la conservation de ces primates
  • La protection des populations de varis noir et blanc, indris, sifakas et lémurs des bambous, quatre espèces de lémuriens comptant parmi les plus fragilisés à Madagascar, dont trois sont répertoriées sur la liste UICN des 25 primates les plus menacés au monde
  • La sauvegarde de 4 000 hectares de forêt tropicale, l'un des types d'habitat les plus riches au monde en termes d'espèces endémiques
  • La mise en place, à long terme, d'une fondation communautaire pour la conservation de la forêt et des lémuriens, en partenariat avec des associations communautaires et le Ministère de l'Environnement malgache
  • L’emploi d’un primatologue malgache pour étudier les lémuriens présents au sein de la forêt Andriantantely et travailler en collaboration avec les associations et autorités locales, afin de procéder à une surveillance participative des animaux.

Notre partenaire

Comment soutenir l'association Beauval Nature ?

Parrainer un animal de Beauval

C’est établir un lien fort avec votre animal préféré tout en finançant les programmes de conservation soutenus par l’association Beauval Nature.

Découvrir nos animaux parrainables

Faire un don

C'est participer à la préservation des espèces animales à travers le monde. L'argent collecté sera reversé à l'un des 50 programmes de conservation soutenus par l'association Beauval Nature.

Faire un don

Vos dons sont déductibles à hauteur de 66% des impôts