Malaysia
In recent years, palm oil has been the focus of considerable debate. Palm oil production is largely responsible for the deforestation that is currently occurring in Malaysia and Indonesia to the detriment of local biodiversity. Borneo, for example, has the fastest rate of tropical deforestation on the planet. In order to limit the impact of palm plantations on the environment and to prevent the expansion of deforestation linked with palm oil production, a certification, called the RSPO (Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil) has been established. This allows certification of plantations seeking to make palm oil production compatible with environmental protection.

An ecosystem living on borrowed time

Currently, the RSPO certifies 430,588 ha of palm plantations around the world. In Malaysia, plantations cover more than 2 million hectares of land. Most of these palm groves are therefore uncertified. Malaysia's biodiversity is truly exceptional but animals such as orangutans, rhinoceros hornbills, Asian elephants, and even sun bears are threatened by habitat loss due to palm plantations.

Conservation actions

Hutan and Beauval Nature propose implementing an innovative methodology to improve RSPO certification of palm oil. The idea is to assess and monitor biodiversity within the palm plantations. To do this, a multidisciplinary approach will be developed in order to identify indicators that will allow the palm plantations to either be certified as being sustainable or not.

To gather as many indicators as possible, different groups of animals, such as mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, and invertebrates, will be targeted by this approach, as well as various strata within the palm plantations.

The aim is to create an inexpensive methodology that can be replicated in other countries where palm oil trees are cultivated.

Our partner

Support the Beauval Nature association

Sponsor Beauval’s animals

Becoming a sponsor is not just about bonding with your favourite animals. It is also a great way to support Beauval Nature’s actions.

Sponsor an animal

Make a donation

Donating to the Beauval Nature association means participating in the preservation of animal species worldwide. The money collected will be donated to one of the 50 conservation programs supported by the Beauval Nature association.

Donate

Malaisie
Depuis quelques années, l’huile de palme est au cœur de tous les débats. Sa production est en grande partie responsable de la déforestation en Malaisie et en Indonésie, au détriment de la biodiversité locale. Bornéo présente par exemple le taux de déforestation tropicale le plus rapide de la planète. Afin de limiter l’impact des palmeraies sur l’environnement et d’empêcher l’expansion de la déforestation liée à la production d’huile de palme, une certification, nommée RSPO (Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil) a été mise en place afin de certifier les plantations souhaitant rendre compatible la production d’huile de palme avec la protection de l’environnement.

Un écosystème en sursis

Actuellement, la RSPO certifie 430 588 ha de palmeraies à travers le monde. En Malaisie, plus de 2 millions d’hectares sont occupées par des plantations et une grande partie de ces palmeraies ne sont donc pas certifiées. La biodiversité de la Malaisie est exceptionnelle et ce sont des animaux comme les orangs-outans, les calaos rhinocéros, les éléphants d’Asie ou encore les ours malais qui se retrouvent menacés par la perte de leur habitat au profit de ces palmeraies.

Des actions de protection

Hutan et Beauval Nature proposent de mettre en place une méthodologie innovante pour améliorer la certification par la RSPO de l’huile de palme. L’idée est d’évaluer et suivre la biodiversité dans les palmeraies. Pour cela, une approche multidisciplinaire sera développée afin de dégager des indicateurs permettant de confirmer ou non la certification durable de ladite palmeraie.

Différentes strates de la palmeraie et différents groupes d’animaux seront ciblés par cette approche : mammifères, oiseaux, reptiles, amphibiens, poissons, invertébrés afin d’avoir le plus d’indicateurs possible.

Le but est de créer une méthodologie peu coûteuse et réplicable dans d’autres pays où les palmiers à huile sont cultivés.

Notre partenaire

Comment soutenir l'association Beauval Nature ?

Parrainer un animal de Beauval

C’est établir un lien fort avec votre animal préféré tout en finançant les programmes de conservation soutenus par l’association Beauval Nature.

Découvrir nos animaux parrainables

Faire un don

C'est participer à la préservation des espèces animales à travers le monde. L'argent collecté sera reversé à l'un des 50 programmes de conservation soutenus par l'association Beauval Nature.

Faire un don

Vos dons sont déductibles à hauteur de 66% des impôts