India

With a wingspan measuring up to 3 metres, the greater adjutant (Leptoptilos dubius) is the largest of the Leptoptilos storks. The greater adjutant suffers from persecution due to its unsightly physique and carrion-feeding tendencies. This has led to the decimation of its populations during the last century. Once found in much of Southeast Asia, it is now classified as "endangered" by the IUCN, with its range now limited to Cambodia and the Indian state of Assam.

A species living on borrowed time

It is estimated that between 800 and 1,200 individuals currently survive in the wild. More than 50% of the breeding population of the species is believed to nest around three adjacent villages in the state of Assam. This large concentration of breeding specimens in one place presents a significant risk for the species in the event of a climate-related disaster or an outbreak of avian flu. The scarcity of nesting sites is also a factor limiting the population's expansion.

Conservation actions

The Aaranyak association has established an artificial nests programme to help expand nesting sites for the species, and therefore encourage greater adjutants to reproduce in protected areas far from the villages. Several prototype nests have already been tested in areas where greater adjutants come to feed, and several breeding pairs have already used some of these nests successfully. Beauval Nature supports Aaranyak by financing the construction of these artificial nests.

In addition to this, the project also gets local populations involved in the protection of this bird. A group of women from the local communities, called the Hargila Army (meaning greater adjutant in Assamese), has dedicated itself to the conservation of the species in Assam by raising awareness amongst the local populations.

Our partner

Support the Beauval Nature association

Sponsor Beauval’s animals

Becoming a sponsor is not just about bonding with your favourite animals. It is also a great way to support Beauval Nature’s actions.

Sponsor an animal

Make a donation

Donating to the Beauval Nature association means participating in the preservation of animal species worldwide. The money collected will be donated to one of the 56 conservation programs supported by the Beauval Nature association.

Donate

Inde
Avec une envergure pouvant atteindre 3 mètres, le marabout argala (Leptoptilos dubius) est le plus grand des marabouts. Victime de son physique disgracieux et de son caractère charognard, le marabout souffre d’une mauvaise réputation ce qui a conduit ses populations à être décimées au cours du siècle dernier. Autrefois présent dans une grande partie de l’Asie du Sud-Est, il est aujourd'hui classé « en danger » d’extinction par l’UICN, son aire de répartition ne se limitant plus qu’au Cambodge et à l’état indien d’Assam.

Une espèce en sursis

On estime qu’entre 800 et 1 200 individus survivent actuellement dans la nature. Plus de 50% de la population reproductrice de l’espèce ne nicherait qu’autour de trois villages adjacents dans l’état d’Assam. Cette grande concentration de spécimens reproducteurs au même endroit représente un risque important pour l’espèce dans le cas où surviendrait un épisode de grippe aviaire ou une catastrophe climatique. La faible disponibilité en sites de nidification est également un facteur limitant l’expansion de la population.

Des actions de protection

L’association Aaranyak a mis en place un programme de nids artificiels permettant de diversifier les sites de nidifications pour l’espèce et l’encourager à se reproduire dans les zones protégées éloignées des villages. Plusieurs prototypes de nids ont déjà été testés dans des zones où les marabouts viennent se nourrir et plusieurs couples ont déjà utilisés certains de ses nids avec succès. Beauval Nature soutien Aaranyak en finançant la construction de ces nids artificiels.

En parallèle, le projet implique les populations locales dans la protection de cet oiseau. Un collectif de femmes issues des communautés, nommée l’Armée Hargila (signifiant marabout argala en Assamais), se dédit à la conservation de l’espèce en Assam en sensibilisant les populations locales.

Notre partenaire

Comment soutenir l'association Beauval Nature ?

Parrainer un animal de Beauval

C’est établir un lien fort avec votre animal préféré tout en finançant les programmes de conservation soutenus par l’association Beauval Nature.

Découvrir nos animaux parrainables

Faire un don

C'est participer à la préservation des espèces animales à travers le monde. L'argent collecté sera reversé à l'un des 50 programmes de conservation soutenus par l'association Beauval Nature.

Faire un don

Vos dons sont déductibles à hauteur de 66% des impôts