Indonesia

Nepenthes are carnivorous plants that capture and digest insects within a pitcher that is filled with liquid. Indonesia is one of the countries with the greatest diversity of Nepenthes in the world. Amongst the 139 species that have been recorded to date, 68 species inhabit Indonesia's various islands: 34 species in Sumatra, 22 in Kalimantan, 3 in Java, 11 in Sulawesi, 3 in Maluku, and 11 in Papua.

A species living on borrowed time

Due to their popularity as ornamental plants, many species have been taken from their natural environment to be sold and are now endangered. Cultivation and maintenance of these plants are complex, and the demand currently exceeds the supply that comes from ex-situ cultivation. Species like Nepenthes clipeata and Nepenthes adrianii are now seriously threatened. The survival of Nepenthes plants is further threatened by forest fires as well as gold and coal mining.

Conservation actions

The botanical division of the Indonesian Institute of Sciences and Chester Zoo are working in collaboration with Beauval Nature to create a centre for the cultivation and conservation of Nepenthes plants. It will be called “The Indonesian Nepenthes Conservation Centre” and its mission will be to preserve Nepenthes plants through cultivation and propagation, research, training, education, scientific tourism, and in-situ conservation of Nepenthes plants.
The construction of a 120 m² greenhouse and laboratory for the cultivation of endangered Nepenthes species is essential to achieve these objectives.

Our partners

Support the Beauval Nature association

Sponsor Beauval’s animals

Becoming a sponsor is not just about bonding with your favourite animals. It is also a great way to support Beauval Nature’s actions.

Sponsor an animal

Make a donation

Donating to the Beauval Nature association means participating in the preservation of animal species worldwide. The money collected will be donated to one of the 56 conservation programs supported by the Beauval Nature association.

Donate

Indonésie
Les nepenthes sont des plantes carnivores qui capturent et digèrent les insectes à l’intérieur d’une urne emplie de liquide. L’Indonésie est l’un des pays qui possède la plus grande diversité de nepenthes au monde. Parmi les 139 espèces recensées à ce jour, 68 espèces vivent au sein des différentes îles indonésiennes : 34 espèces à Sumatra, 22 à Kalimantan, 3 à Java, 11 au Sulawesi, 3 à Maluku et 11 en Papouasie.

Des espèces en sursis

En raison de leur popularité en tant que plantes ornementales, de nombreuses espèces sont aujourd’hui menacées car extraites de leur milieu naturel pour être vendues. La culture et l’entretien de ces plantes est complexe et la demande est aujourd’hui plus importante que l’offre qui peut être fournie grâce aux cultures ex-situ. Des espèces comme Nepenthes clipeata ou Nepenthes adrianii sont aujourd’hui gravement menacées. Les feux de forêts et l’exploitation minière d’or et de charbon sont davantage de menaces qui pèsent sur la survie des nepenthes.

Des actions de protection

La division botanique de l’institut des sciences indonésien et le Zoo de Chester en collaboration avec Beauval Nature travaillent à la création d’un centre de culture et conservation des nepenthes. Nommé « Centre Indonésien de conservation des Nepenthes », il aura pour mission de préserver les nepenthes grâce à leur culture et leur propagation, la recherche, la formation, l’éducation, le tourisme scientifique et la conservation in-situ de ces plantes.
La construction d’une serre de 120 m² équipée d’un laboratoire pour la culture des nepenthes en danger d’extinction est essentielle pour atteindre ces objectifs.

Nos partenaires

Comment soutenir l'association Beauval Nature ?

Parrainer un animal de Beauval

C’est établir un lien fort avec votre animal préféré tout en finançant les programmes de conservation soutenus par l’association Beauval Nature.

Découvrir nos animaux parrainables

Faire un don

C'est participer à la préservation des espèces animales à travers le monde. L'argent collecté sera reversé à l'un des 50 programmes de conservation soutenus par l'association Beauval Nature.

Faire un don

Vos dons sont déductibles à hauteur de 66% des impôts