Indonesia
The tropical forests of Indonesia are home to several of the most endangered bird species on our planet. These endemic birds suffer from animal trafficking and deforestation that destroys the places where they live.
Ce programme
a remporté le 2ème Prix
du jury
Catégorie Conservation
En savoir plus

Endangered species

Many species have exceptional vocal abilities, which unfortunately results in them being prized by the local people who use them in song competitions, which are very popular in Southeast Asia. The Sumatran laughingthrush (Garrulax bicolor), the Nias hill myna (Gracula robusta) and the straw-headed bulbul (Pycnonotus zeylanicus) are some of these popular songbirds that are taken, and which are now in danger of extinction. Every year, thousands of these songbirds are captured to fuel this lucrative trafficking.

Conservation actions

The project led by the Sumatran Orangutan Conservation Program (SOCP) plans to construct a breeding centre for songbirds in Indonesia with, initially, the implementation of a captive breeding program for the most endangered species of Sumatran songbirds such as the Sumatran laughingthrush and the Nias hill myna. The ultimate goal is to reintroduce the future generations that will originate from these first mating pairs back into the wild. An awareness campaign will be set up alongside the breeding centre to try and change the local population's attitudes towards songbirds.

The support of Beauval Nature will help finance the construction of the breeding centre as well as the equipment that is necessary for its operational needs. From 2020 onwards, the management of this breeding centre will be entirely funded by Beauval Nature and Jersey Zoo in England.

Our partner

Support the Beauval Nature association

Sponsor Beauval’s animals

Becoming a sponsor is not just about bonding with your favourite animals. It is also a great way to support Beauval Nature’s actions.

Sponsor an animal

Make a donation

Donating to the Beauval Nature association means participating in the preservation of animal species worldwide. The money collected will be donated to one of the 50 conservation programs supported by the Beauval Nature association.

Donate

Indonésie
Les forêts tropicales d’Indonésie abritent plusieurs espèces d’oiseaux figurant parmi les plus menacées de notre planète. Ces oiseaux endémiques souffrent de la déforestation qui détruit leurs lieux de vie, mais également du trafic d’animaux.
Ce programme
a remporté le 2ème Prix
du jury
Catégorie Conservation
En savoir plus

Des espèces en sursis

De nombreuses espèces possèdent des qualités vocales hors du commun et font malheureusement l’objet des convoitises des populations locales qui les utilisent dans des concours de chants très populaires en Asie du Sud-Est. Le garrulaxe bicolore (Garrulax bicolor), le mainate robuste (Gracula robusta) ou encore le bulbul à tête jaune (Pycnonotus zeylanicus) font partis de ces oiseaux chanteurs prisés et sont aujourd’hui en danger d’extinction. Chaque année, des milliers de ces oiseaux chanteurs sont capturés pour alimenter ce trafic lucratif.

Des actions de protection

Le projet mené par le Sumatran Orangutan Conservation Programme (SOCP) prévoit la construction d’un centre de reproduction pour oiseaux chanteurs en Indonésie avec, en premier lieu, l’établissement d’un programme de reproduction en captivité pour les espèces les plus menacées d’oiseaux chanteurs à Sumatra telles que les garrulaxes bicolores et mainates robustes. L’objectif, à terme, est de pouvoir réintroduire dans la nature les futures générations issues de ces premiers couples formés. En parallèle, un programme de sensibilisation des populations locales sera mis en place pour tenter de faire évoluer les mentalités sur les oiseaux chanteurs.

Le soutien de Beauval Nature permettra de financer la construction du centre de reproduction ainsi que les équipements nécessaires à son fonctionnement. À partir de 2020 et pour les années suivantes, la gestion de ce centre de reproduction sera entièrement financée par Beauval Nature et le Zoo de Jersey, en Angleterre.

Notre partenaire

Comment soutenir l'association Beauval Nature ?

Parrainer un animal de Beauval

C’est établir un lien fort avec votre animal préféré tout en finançant les programmes de conservation soutenus par l’association Beauval Nature.

Découvrir nos animaux parrainables

Faire un don

C'est participer à la préservation des espèces animales à travers le monde. L'argent collecté sera reversé à l'un des 50 programmes de conservation soutenus par l'association Beauval Nature.

Faire un don

Vos dons sont déductibles à hauteur de 66% des impôts