R.D. of Lao

The saola is the most recently discovered large herbivorous mammal. In fact, until now scientists have not even observed a live individual. The difficulties associated with observing this species have reinforced its mythical status.

A species living on borrowed time

The latest estimates indicate that there are less than 100 saolas left in the mountains of Vietnam and Laos, with the species therefore classified as "critically endangered" by the IUCN.

Although the saola suffers from degradation of its habitat due to logging and agriculture, hunting for the bushmeat trade is the principal threat to this species and is widespread in the saola's range. Between 1995 and 2003, 30 saolas are said to have been shot in the Pu Huong nature reserve in Vietnam. Despite not being used in traditional Asian medicine, the saola is a victim of this practice because it is often accidentally trapped instead of other small ungulates that are hunted to supply the local pharmacopoeia.

Conservation actions

The Saola Foundation, with the support of Beauval Nature, is attempting to mobilise the financial and technical resources necessary to locate the last remaining individuals in the wild and set up an ex-situ breeding programme before the species goes extinct.

In addition to this, the association works with local indigenous populations to protect the forest and the relatively unknown, threatened biodiversity of the Annamese mountains.

Our partner

Support the Beauval Nature association

Sponsor Beauval’s animals

Becoming a sponsor is not just about bonding with your favourite animals. It is also a great way to support Beauval Nature’s actions.

Sponsor an animal

Make a donation

Donating to the Beauval Nature association means participating in the preservation of animal species worldwide. The money collected will be donated to one of the 50 conservation programs supported by the Beauval Nature association.

Donate

R.D. du Lao
Dernier grand mammifère herbivore découvert, le saola n’a jusqu’alors jamais été observé vivant par des scientifiques. Cette difficulté d’observation renforce le caractère mythique conféré à l’espèce.

Une espèce en sursis

Les dernières estimations indiquent qu'il subsisterait moins de 750 saolas au sein des montagnes du Vietnam et du Laos. L’espèce est classée "En danger critique d'extinction" par l'UICN (Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature).

Bien que le saola souffre de la dégradation de son habitat, due à l'exploitation forestière et l'agriculture, la principale menace pesant sur l’espèce reste la chasse, très répandue au sein de son aire de répartition pour le marché de la viande de brousse. Entre 1995 et 2003, 30 saolas auraient été abattus au sein de la réserve naturelle de Pu Huong, au Vietnam. Bien qu'il ne soit pas utilisé dans la médecine traditionnelle asiatique, le saola est victime de cette pratique car il est souvent piégé accidentellement à la place d'autres petits ongulés chassés pour alimenter la pharmacopée locale.

Des actions de protection

Soutenue par Beauval Nature, la Saola Foundation tente de mobiliser les ressources financières et techniques nécessaires à la localisation des derniers individus dans la nature afin de pouvoir mettre en place un programme d’élevage ex-situ pour l’espèce avant qu’elle ne s’éteigne.

En parallèle, l’association travaille avec les populations indigènes locales afin de protéger la forêt et la biodiversité menacée et méconnue des montagnes Annamites.

Notre partenaire

Comment soutenir l'association Beauval Nature ?

Parrainer un animal de Beauval

C’est établir un lien fort avec votre animal préféré tout en finançant les programmes de conservation soutenus par l’association Beauval Nature.

Découvrir nos animaux parrainables

Faire un don

C'est participer à la préservation des espèces animales à travers le monde. L'argent collecté sera reversé à l'un des 50 programmes de conservation soutenus par l'association Beauval Nature.

Faire un don

Vos dons sont déductibles à hauteur de 66% des impôts